Sydney Thunder are the defending champions ; Image Credit:

Just like India’s very own Indian Premier League, Australia too, has its own Big Bash League which is fast becoming one of the most watched and popular cricket leagues among the fans. As, the 6th season has already begun, its is important that you should be aware of some of the unknown facts and information regarding the clubs and their squad, this year. The top eight teams, of the league are, Adelaide Strikers, Melbourne Stars, Sydney Thunder, Brisbane Heat, Sydney Sixers, Melbourne Renegades, Hobart Hurricanes and Perth Scorchers.

A scene from the Adelaide Oval. during a BBL match ; Image Credit:
A scene from the Adelaide Oval. during a BBL match ; Image Credit:

Take a look down for a brief introduction of the league and its journey so far-

  1. The first season of the BBL started in 2011-12, with the Sydney Sixers winning the title and becoming the first ever club to clinch the trophy.
  2. Michael Klinger (Perth Scorchers) is the highest scorer in the history of Big Bash League, accumulating 1,274 runs, so far (before the start of the 6th season).

3. Ben Laughlin (Adelaide Strikers) has taken the most number of wickets, taking the count to 60 (before the start of the 6th season).

Image Credit:
Image Credit:
  1. Lasith Malinga holds the record for the best bowling in a single match, taking 6 wickets for just 7 runs, playing for Melbourne Stars, against Perth Scorchers in 2012-13 season.
  2. Hobart Hurricanes holds the record for scoring the highest team total in a match, making 210/7 against Brisbane Heat, in 2013-14 season.
  3. Luke Right (Melbourne Stars), secures the record for making the best individual score in an innings, scoring 117 runs against Hobart Hurricanes in 2012-13 season.

7. As far as the clubs are concerned, four of the eight teams have won the title at least once, with Perth Scorchers being the most successful club, winning the Big Bash title twice! Coming into this season, Sydney Thunder are the defending champions.

Image Credit:
Image Credit:

Well, the popularity of this domestic cricket league of Australia can be measured by the fact, that it’s entered the top 10 most attended sports league in the world, with respect to the average crowd per match, during the 5th season (2015-16).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here