Kalinga Lancers ended their wait to win the competition. (photo courtesy: twitter.com/@HockeyIndiaLeag)

Kalinga Warriors defeated the group toppers Dabang Mumbai to win the Coal India Hockey India League 2017. Playing the second final match in as many seasons, Kalinga, lead by the former FIH player of the year Moritz Fuerste, stayed put through the last minutes of the game to emerge as the winners.

Kalinga Lancers were the Runners-up last season

Glenn Turner opened the scoring for Kalinga with a field goal in the 18th minute to make to 2-0. Moritz Fuerste scored through a penalty corner to take Kalinga 3-0 up just before the completion of second quarter.

Kalinga Lancers players celebrating their first goal. (photo courtesy: twitter.com/@HockeyIndiaLeag)

Minutes into the second half, Dabang Mumbai brought down their deficit to 2 goals through a goal on penalty corner. Instead of going for a direct scoop, Mumbai players went for a variation in their approach. Harmanpreet slid the ball to Affan Yousuf near the baseline and the India international did not disappoint with his finish. Dabang Mumbai equalised through a field goal deep into the fourth quarter, only for the goal to be disallowed after referral to the third umpire for being deemed as dangerous. Kalinga sealed their victory with their second penalty corner goal in the 59th minute. Moritz Fuerste scored his tenth penalty corner goal of the tournament, 12th goal overall, to go into lead in the top scorers chart alongside teammate Glenn Turner. No further goals were scored as Kalinga won the match 4-1 and this season’s Hockey India League.

Moritz Fuerste was declared the Man of the Match for his performance in this all-important final.

Also Read:Kalinga Lancers to clash against Dabang Mumbai for Hockey India League title

In the 3rd-4th place play-off, Uttar Pradesh Wizards beat Delhi Waveriders 5-4 to finish third.

Dabang Mumbai’s captain Florian Fuchs was declared the Most Valuable Player of the tournament. Mumbai’s Harmanpreet Singh was declared the Upcoming Player of the Tournament for his performances throughout the tournament.